AUGUST 5, 2021


President Claire Steen called the meeting to order at 6:15 p.m. by welcoming all in attendance. There was a total of 33 in attendance. Motion made by Cindy Rieck, seconded by Kathy Larson to approve the agenda for the evening. Motion passed. President Steen then introduced the speaker for the evening — Nicole Erickson, Environmental Service Specialist. She gave an excellent presentation regarding the lakes in Crow Wing County especially all the aquatic invasive species invading our waters: zebra mussels, Eurasian watermilfoil and starry stonewort. Nicole encouraged volunteers to attend a free workshop on August 21, 2021, from 9-noon to participate in a statewide search for starry stonewort, one of Minnesota’s newest invasive species. Location is Mission Park, 13871 Mission Park Drive, Merrifield, MN. Information about Crow Wing County AIS prevention efforts, including interactive maps to search for the status of area lakes, can be found at www.crowwing.us/ais.

Due to the available copies of the 2019 Annual Meeting minutes, a motion made by Sue Nikodym, seconded by Rick Dubay to accept the minutes as written. Motion passed.

Ken Meyer, Treasurer, distributed copies of the Treasurer’s Report and reviewed them. Copy of the report is attached. Motion made by Brad Schultz, seconded by Judy Murphy to accept the Treasurer’s Report. All in favor.

President Steen introduced the UHLA Board Members, followed by each member in attendance introducing themselves, where they were located on the lake and interesting comments.

The President presented an open forum for lake residents to voice their concerns, giving all a chance to speak. Some concerns were the depths of the water and having the DNR putting up markers, turning off bright lights around the lake at night, discussion about the bears being more visible and traffic on the lake. An idea to possibly help with the concerns was to have volunteers from the four sides of the lake serve as Beach Captains available to come to with your questions or concerns. The following volunteered: Cindy Rieck — south side; Neil Beaverson — west side; Mike Dubay — east side; Jack Woodruff — north side. The new concept was presented by Claire who heard about it at Pelican Lake.

Election of UHLA Board Members —

Lori Engel — Secretary

Ken Meyer — Agreed to remain Treasurer for another year. Brad Schultz volunteered to take over the newsletter task for Ken.

Claire Steen — returning for another term as president

Jack Wppdruff volunteered to serve as an Honorary Board Member

Motion made by Jim Fleming, seconded by Guido Leutem to accept the elected members. Passed.

Claire acknowledged Brad Schultz for providing the entertainment — Minnow Races. Winner was Susan Dubay. Thank you, Brad!

Neil Beaverson made a motion to adjourn, seconded by brad Kraus. All in favor. Meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jan Marshall

Outgoing Secretary